Register | Sign In
Raleigh > Reviews > Arts & Entertainment > Regal North Hills Cinema

Regal North Hills Cinema

2.5**~

based on 15 reviews

4150 Main at North Hills Street
Raleigh, NC 27609

Edit

Category: Arts & Entertainment
Tags: movie theater, gangs, cell phones during movies, trash, pizza, pasta, italian, bad mgt., uncomfortable, hot, avoid films here unless it's opening weekend...

I am the owner of this business

Accepts Credit Cards: yes
Parking: Street
Wheelchair Accessible: yes

15 reviews for Regal North Hills Cinema

Regal North Hills Cinema
Avatar_thumbnail
Jeremy T. Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

2.0**
1 out of 1 find this review helpful
05/30/2009

I'm a teenager. I've never seen a single "hoodlum, punk, or gang member" any time I've visited. I've seen a lot of stupid kids, but no punks or hoodlums. It's North Hills, the fanciest mall in Raleigh, where all the rich ITB kids go for the weekend to hang out. They're mostly preps, far from intimidating. This theater is excessively strict on supposed age restrictions for R-rated movies, compared to all other theaters in Raleigh. 17 year olds cannot get tickets for an R-rated movie, and you have to be 21 to buy a ticket to an R-rated movie for someone under 18. And yet they have a debit card machine right next to the box office that you can buy tickets from, and this machine doesn't care what age you are at all. Any teenager with a debit card or a friend with one can get a ticket for any movie they want. Parking can be inconvenient, and handicapped spaces are somewhat limited and difficult to get out of. There are some good restaurants nearby, though, and the theater itself is almost always clean.

Regal North Hills Cinema
Avatar_thumbnail
pketpket Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

5.0*****
No opinions about this review
02/27/2009

I have frequented this theater since its opening and time and again am satisfied with my movie going experience. The ticket clerks are speedy and friendly, the popcorn is freshly made, the restrooms are kept clean and the movies are kept in focus. In general the lines are short compared to neighboring theaters and often I have found myself one of a handful of people watching a movie. If you go in the middle of the week you may even score a "private" viewing.

Parking can be a problem on weekends, but if you have some shopping to do parking by the Target below is a great option. I have always felt safe walking alone as a female around North Hills.

Regal North Hills Cinema
Avatar_thumbnail
John C. Send private message

Reviews
Written: 4

5.0*****
0 out of 1 find this review helpful
01/23/2009

Nice, clean, newer theater. Parking may be distant so allow a few extra minutes to get from lot to theater. Bathrooms are clean, concessions are fresh and staff is very friendly. The picture and sound quality are very good. The seats are clean and comfortable. I have been seeing movies at this theater since it opened and never had any problems. Good job, keep up the good work! As anywhere in this day and age, there are certain people who are very inconsiderate. People will continue to use cell phones, talk and carry on during the movie. I have seen adults doing it too. The best thing to do is move your seat or report the problem to management.

Hide comments

02/27/2009

When I lived at North Hills I frequented this theater on an almost weekly basis. I think the problem with teenagers depends on the movies you are going to see there. I don't recall any incidents or comments that were inappropriate for the circumstances on screen. If you go to a comedy expect people to laugh, a horror film for people to scream and so forth. Cell phones are a nuisance, but everyone forgets now and again even in church sometimes.

Reply

Regal North Hills Cinema
Avatar_thumbnail
BetterOffElsewhere Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

1.0*
0 out of 1 find this review helpful
01/19/2009

Cell phones need to be off during movies. I asked a couple teenagers to turn off their phones. They screamed at me "that is rude, I'm gettin my daddy!". Then they made more threats and I told them I would get a manager. I was rude for wanting to watch a movie without the glare and distraction of a couple cell phones? There were 4 of us and it cost over $80 for tickets and concessions and I was rude for wanting to enjoy a movie?
They text messaged a few more times. About 15 minutes later a couple young men came in and sat in the aisle by us. When the movie was over I went to the restroom. The two guys who came and sat in the aisle followed me. One went into a stall with the door open and the other leaned on the wall smacking one fist into the other. Luckily for me there were a couple other people in there. I washed my hands and while drying them watched the punks. They looked at me but didnt do anything else. The one in the stall had planned for the other to pull me in there but they changed their mind. It was a very disturbing situation.
If you go to this theater, be prepared for a very unpleasant evening. First they need to make people turn off their phones, second the guys who came in and sat in the aisle should produce a ticket or be asked to leave, third they need more cops. This was the Worst movie experience I have ever had. I recomend this theater for hoodlums, punks and gangs because that is their clientele.

Hide comments

01/23/2009

Some kids these days have no manners and do not care about other people. Until they totally ban cell phones from theaters we will all have to deal with it. It happens everywhere. When problems arise, the management should be contacted at once. Never try to take the matter into your own hands, there are a lot of crazy people out there who would love to do you harm and don't give a hoot about you or your life.

07/25/2009

how do you know these "thugs" planned to pull you in there? did you talk to them or just judge them? by the way if youre a prick to people they arent going to respond well. maybe next time try saying "could you please put away your phone? its distracting me" and youll get a better response. sounds to me like you were a large part of the problem by keeping yourself from enjoying your experience.

Reply

Regal North Hills Cinema
Avatar_thumbnail
diandra Send private message

Reviews
Written: 2

4.0****
No opinions about this review
05/31/2008

Love it!

* Rating

click to rate

* Your Review

Tags: movie theater, gangs, cell phones during movies, trash, pizza, pasta, italian, bad mgt., uncomfortable, hot, avoid films here unless it's opening weekend...

Add tags: (comma separated)
Example: pizza, pasta, italian

Do You Already Have an OhSoHandy.com Account?  

I'm sorry but you do not appear to have javascript turned on. Don't blame you with all the popups out there. :) Please login or register before creating a new ad.

View Larger Map/Directions »