Register | Sign In
Raleigh > Reviews > Health and Medical > Eye Care Associates

Eye Care Associates

1.0*

based on 16 reviews

1975 High House
Cary, NC 27519

Edit

Category: Health and Medical
Tags: glasses, contacts, eyeglasses, eye care, vision, optical, worst ever . eye care associates caused double vision. no refund

I am the owner of this business

Accepts Credit Cards: yes
Parking: Street
Wheelchair Accessible: yes

Blank_business_medium
0 photos

16 reviews for Eye Care Associates

Eye Care Associates
Avatar_thumbnail
........... Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

1.0*
1 out of 1 find this review helpful
11/09/2013

worst ever . Eye Care Associates caused double vision. no refund

Eye Care Associates
Avatar_thumbnail
Bolick A. Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

1.0*
1 out of 1 find this review helpful
07/28/2013

Call 919-349-5550 for the Owner. Call 919-349-4205 for the President, or call the Senior Managers at 919-889-7778 or 919-349-5553. These are their personal phone numbers so please call them.

Eye Care Associates
Avatar_thumbnail
Max B. Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

1.0*
1 out of 1 find this review helpful
09/07/2012

Every time my wife or I got a pair of glasses over the past five years at ECA something turns out to be wrong with them. Every time there was a problem they blamed it on "the lab."
Last time my wife got new glasses they had the wrong prescription and had to be redone twice. I ordered prescription sunglasses that I needed for a two-week vacation trip to the beach. I called the day they were supposed to be ready and was told they weren't in, but someone would call me back. They didn't. I called the next day to ask about them. After I was transferred to what seemed like every employee in the store, plus a couple of customers, I was told that they would be ready three days AFTER I was to leave on my vacation. I'm way too patient for my own good, but there are A LOT of other places to get glasses other than a place that is more expensive than most and doesn't deliver what and when they promised. I'm going to try one of the other ones, and I recommend that you do the same.

Eye Care Associates
Avatar_thumbnail
Feyecareass Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

1.0*
1 out of 1 find this review helpful
08/13/2012

If I can choose -1 star, I would choose it. This is worst place to get glasses. I should have searched online reviews first before I decided to go or not.

Because this place always open in big shopping center, I assumed it is good. But the reality made me so angry and just want to say "F*** you" to them!

1. First of all, they don't have patience. I didn't feel I am welcomed. From Doctors to assistants, they just wanted to give you options, they didn't want to listen to you. They wanted you to pay as soon as possible. They don't care what is your concern. The first time I went there, they gave me an exam. During the exam, the doctor gave me mydriatic. After exam finished, my vision was not clear because of the mydriatic drop. I told my doctor, she just said, you will be ok! I said, "I am not sure I will be ok. I don't feel comfortable to drive home." She replied: "you will be ok to drive home!! " Fuck! Later after several months, I switched to another optometrist at another city´╝î she gave me mydriatic too but even before I mentioned that I might have problem to drive home, this optometrist gave me a plastic sunglasses and said: this will help you to drive home.

2. Second story: I finally drove home, and waited for several days, they called me to get my glasses. I got it and I put it on immediately and found that they were not comfortable. I brought it out, doctor said, "you might not feel comfortable now, go back home and try 1 week. you can come back if it still causes you problem". Alright, I wore it for a week and still didn't feel comfortable, what worse, it caused my left ache. I went there again, they said that the results we got from the exam. WTF! Later I went to Costco optical, the optometrist checked my glasses and bent a little bit and made it fit my eyes! Right after he adjusted, I felt difference!! He spent less than 1 minute and solved this problem that caused my pain!

I have no idea why this fucking eye care associates charge customers so much and provide non-professional services. If you want to waist money and time, and if you want to feel angry, please go ahead.

Eye Care Associates
Avatar_thumbnail
Psquare Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

1.0*
No opinions about this review
04/20/2012

I too had a Groupon and a terrible experience with both the locations in Cameron Village as well as the one near the BJs on Walnut Street. Walnut tried to fix the problem Cameron Village created. then everything went down hill from there. Between the two stores, my eyeglasses were remade five times. This last remake, I took them to my regular optician and was told Eye Care Associates had no curvature with the lens. What a crock. I am out the extra money I paid for progressive lenses and now left with a pair of single vision lenses. They would not refund the additional I paid for the progressives, despite their twice failed attempts to produce something I could actually see through. Groupon did credit me back my $50 via future Groupin purchases. Chalk this one up to experience. Stay away from Eye Care Associates.

Eye Care Associates
Avatar_thumbnail
Fieryfly Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

1.0*
1 out of 1 find this review helpful
02/29/2012

I had a very unpleasant experience at this place and would not recommend it.

I have been wearing contacts for 25 years and the same acuvue brand for the past 10 years and have no problems with it. But in spite of telling Dr. Grey that I have no issues with this brand he made me try out another brand - and told me to wear it for a few hours. The result was that I not only had to suffer the unpleasant sensation but my eyes troubled me for a few days after that. I was also slapped with the charge of $80 - for "lens fitting exam" - which my insurance did not cover - and which I obviously did not need.

They also would not work with me when I had some insurance issues and would not rebill - as the insurance required. Well they lost my business for good because my whole family wears glasses and we are NOT going to this place ever again.

Eye Care Associates
Avatar_thumbnail
th.renting Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

1.0*
1 out of 1 find this review helpful
11/02/2011

DON'T BUY GLASSES AT THE EYE CARE ASSOCIATES ANY PLACES.
I bought eyeglasses for my wife. The full price was almost $900 but covered insurance and I paid remaining balances $230.
We picked her eyeglasses and used one day. Her nose had red spot and pain. Finally we found two lenses are different. Right lense is thin but left lense is more thick and heavy. That's why she have pains. FYI, lens type is GT2 3D plastic 1.66.
We complained next day. They said it is normal and trying to adjust the leg only. It is ridiculous. I just arguments with them. They have to change other high index glass. Do you know what? They want to redo with glass index type 1.6 which is more thickness then index 1.66 type and charging another $65. Too Stupid and foolish.
I'm going to BBB or take legal action.

Eye Care Associates
Avatar_thumbnail
Opinionista Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

2.0**
No opinions about this review
06/23/2011

My husband got his glasses at this location, and I got mine at the other store at Weston/Harrison (Renaissance Pkwy near Bonefish). This location (High House) is a zoo. Crowded, noisy, kids running around. Crowded and slow. We had to wait at least an hour to have someone help us pick out glasses. Then the glasses took two weeks to get, and we had to wait again for an hour for the pickup/fitting. The selection wasn't that great. The few people that work there are nice and try to be helpful, but they're understaffed. The front desk tells you nothing about how long you'll need to wait or when you'll be helped. I don't know why they bother to serve coffee. It's nasty. The Weston store is significantly better. That location is fast, clean, new, and has a huge selection, especially for women. No lines, no kids, no wait. Go there instead. You'll be glad you did.

Eye Care Associates
Avatar_thumbnail
nohillsgrove Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

2.0**
No opinions about this review
06/23/2011

My overall experience was not that pleasant. For a year, I had Dr. Donna Hillsgrove at the Chapel Hill office. She gave me my first pair glasses, and shortly after she fitted me for contacts. My contacts never really felt right. I went to see her a few more times to try to get it straightened out, and each time she never really listened to my concerns. I later found out she kept pushing the most expensive contacts on me, and didn't mind asking me to come back every couple weeks so that she could "check up" on me and charge me another $50. Fortunately, my last visit she was out of the office, and I had Dr. Morgan. He is a young doctor and turned out to be very helpful. I would recommend him to others, and I am glad that I had him instead of her on my last visit. Unfortunately, he works at a practice that does their best to get as much money out of their patients as possible while providing very little attention to their concerns. If you plan on going to Eye Care Associates of Chapel Hill, ask for Dr. Morgan. Dr. Hillsgrove doesn't seem to understand that quality of care is most important in this branch of medical industry. Stay away from Dr. Hillsgrove if you want a doctor that will listen to your concerns, won't push the most expensive options of eye care on you when its not necessary, and won't charge you excessively for unnecessary appointments that she strongly recommends you schedule.

Eye Care Associates
Avatar_thumbnail
bmiller Send private message

Reviews
Written: 1

1.0*
No opinions about this review
06/22/2011

Eye Care Associates-Cary, NC
I would definitely not recommend them to anyone! I paid way too much for my glasses and can't see across the room with them on because they blur my vision. This is my 3rd pair of prescription glasses and I've never had this issue in the past. I complained to an Eye Care Assoc. employee and they told me it must be the prescription and to go back to my eye doctor. Terrible customer service! As it turns out, the prescription was fine and I purchased another pair of glasses at Target. My Target glasses are perfect.
Also, the above review defending them sounds like an Eye Care Asscoiate wrote it. I'm just saying!

* Rating

click to rate

* Your Review

Tags: glasses, contacts, eyeglasses, eye care, vision, optical, worst ever . eye care associates caused double vision. no refund

Add tags: (comma separated)
Example: pizza, pasta, italian

Do You Already Have an OhSoHandy.com Account?  

I'm sorry but you do not appear to have javascript turned on. Don't blame you with all the popups out there. :) Please login or register before creating a new ad.

View Larger Map/Directions »